VL'96: 1996 IEEE Symposium on Visual Languages
Theme: Visual Languages and Innovation
September 3-6, 1996
Boulder, Colorado

VL'96 is the premier international conference on visual and multimedia computer languages. This year, the theme will be "Visual Languages and Innovation." We are very interested in innovative aspects of visual and multimedia languages and how they affect their users -- whether these users are professional programmers, end-users, or even children.

Original papers, demonstrations, tutorials, and posters are invited in every area of such languages. Papers may address any aspect, including language design, implementation strategies, theoretical issues, usability, and practicality in the real world. We are especially interested in how this work adds new insights into how to build innovative languages: how does a particular feature provide greater support for some task than has been accomplished before? Who does this feature help, why, and how do we know? How is it different from other approaches? What is needed to make even more gains?

Sample topics include (but are not limited to):

Submission Categories and Deadlines

Papers can be research papers, application/case studies, or poster papers. Authors must identify the paper's category. In addition, we are interested in tutorial proposals and live demonstrations.

Original research papers should make clear what new contribution the work makes to visual languages, and how the work differs from related works.

Original case study/application papers should describe the use of one or more VLs in the real world. Such papers are especially encouraged if they report on ways to use VLs or applications of VLs that have not been reported before.

Poster papers are most suitable for interactive discussion. Work in early stages is especially encouraged, but work in any stage of development that would benefit from an interactive presentation is encouraged.

For details of submission, see http://soglio.colorado.edu/Web/vl96.html

Deadline: All submissions due: Feb. 12, 1996
Notification to authors of acceptance: April 12, 1996
Final camera-ready manuscripts: May 31, 1996

Information Sources

More information: http://soglio.colorado.edu/Web/vl96.html

Questions to:

   Margaret Burnett                   Wayne Citrin
   Computer Science Dept.             Electrical and Computer Engineering Dept.
   Oregon State University            University of Colorado
   Corvallis, Oregon 97331 USA        Boulder, CO 80309-0425 USA
   e-mail: burnett@cs.orst.edu        e-mail: citrin@cs.colorado.edu

Steering Committee:   Allen Ambler, University of Kansas, USA
                      Shi-Kuo Chang, University of Pittsburgh, USA
                      Tadao Ichikawa, University of Hiroshima, Japan
                      Erland Jungert, Swedish Defence Research Estab., Sweden
                      Robert Korfhage, University of Pittsburgh, USA
                      Stefano Levialdi, University of Rome, Italy
                      Steven Tanimoto, University of Washington, USA

General Chair:        H.-J. Hoffmann, Technische Hochschule Darmstadt, Germany

Program Co-Chairs:    Margaret Burnett, Oregon State University, USA
                      Wayne Citrin, University of Colorado, USA

Tutorials Chair:      Trevor Smedley, Tech. University of Nova Scotia, Canada
Special Events Chair: John Stasko, Georgia Tech, USA

Program Committee:

Meera Blattner, University of California, Davis, USA
Margaret Burnett, Oregon State University, USA
Wayne Citrin, University of Colorado, USA
Isabel Cruz, Tufts University, USA
Alberto Del Bimbo, Firenza University, Italy
Stephen Eick, AT&T Bell Labs, USA
Ephraim Glinert, Rensselaer Polytechnic University, USA
Thomas Green, MRC Applied Psychology, UK
Volker Haarslev, University of Hamburg, Germany
Masahito Hirakawa, University of Hiroshima, Japan
John Hosking, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dan Kimura, Washington University, USA
Clayton Lewis, University of Colorado, USA
Henry Lieberman, MIT Media Lab, USA
Kim Marriott, Monash University, Australia
Satoshi Matsuoka, University of Tokyo, Japan
Piero Mussio, University of Roma, Italy
Marc Najork, DEC Systems Research Center, USA
Joe Pfeiffer, New Mexico State University, USA
Alex Repenning, University of Colorado, USA
Trevor Smedley, Tech. University of Nova Scotia, Canada
David Canfield Smith, Apple Advanced Technology Lab, USA
John Stasko, Georgia Tech, USA
Genoveffa Tortora, University of Salerno, Italy
Kang Zhang, Macquarie University, Australia

   and the members of the Steering Committee


Last modified: Tue Sep 29 15:22:10 CDT 1998