IEEE CLOUD 2018 News

[7/22/2017] Professor Ian Foster Appointed as PC Chair of IEEE CLOUD 2018

Professor Stephan S. Yau, General Chair of IEEE 2018 SERVICES, appointed Professor Ian Foster (Director at Argonne National Laboratory and Professor at University of Chicago) as PC Chair of 2018 IEEE CLOUD.

Dr. Ian Foster is Director of the Computation Institute, a joint institute of the University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory. He is also an Argonne Senior Scientist and Distinguished Fellow and the Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science at University of Chicago.

Ian received his PhD in computer science from Imperial College, United Kingdom. His research deals with distributed, parallel, and data-intensive computing technologies, and innovative applications of those technologies to scientific problems in such domains as climate change and biomedicine. Methods and software developed under his leadership underpin many large national and international cyberinfrastructures.

Dr. Foster is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), ACM, and the British Computer Society. His awards include the Global Information Infrastructure (GII) Next Generation award, the British Computer Society's Lovelace Medal, R&D Magazine's Innovator of the Year, and an honorary doctorate from the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. He was a co-founder of Univa UD, Inc., a company established to deliver grid and cloud computing solutions.

[7/21/2017] Professor Daniel A. Reed Appointed as General Co-Chair of IEEE CLOUD 2018

Professor Stephan S. Yau, General Chair of IEEE 2018 SERVICES, appointed Professor Daniel A. Reed (Professor at University of Iowa) as General Co-Chair of 2018 IEEE CLOUD.

Professor Daniel A. Reed is the Vice President for Research and Economic Development at the University of Iowa. He is also the University Computational Science and Bioinformatics Chair, and Professor of Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Prior to joining University of Iowa, Professor Reed was Corporate Vice President at Microsoft from 2009 – 2012, responsible for global technology policy and extreme computing, and Director of Scalable and Multicore Computing at Microsoft from 2007 until 2009. He founded the Renaissance Computing Institute in 2004 and served as its director until December 2007. He was also Chancellor’s Eminent Professor and served as senior adviser for strategy and innovation to Chancellor James Moeser, UNC-Chapel Hill. He served as CIO and Vice Chancellor for Information Technology Services at UNC-Chapel Hill from June 2004 through April 2007. Prior to that, he was Director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA), Gutgsell Professor and Head of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Professor Reed was appointed to the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), by President Bush, in 2006 and served on the President’s Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC) from 2003–2005. As chair of PITAC’s computational science subcommittee, he was lead author of the report “Computational Science: Ensuring America’s Competitiveness.” On PCAST, he co-chaired the Networking and Information Technology subcommittee (with George Scalise of the Semiconductor Industry Association) and co-authored a report on the Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD) program called “Leadership Under Challenge: Information Technology R&D in Competitive World.” He is also a member of PCAST’s Personalized Medicine subcommittee.

Professor Reed received his Ph.D degree in Computer Science from Purdue University. He is Fellow of IEEE, ACM, and American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

[7/20/2017] Professor Geoffrey Fox Appointed as General Chair of IEEE CLOUD 2018

Professor Stephan S. Yau, General Chair of IEEE 2018 SERVICES, appointed Professor Geoffrey Fox (Professor at Indiana University) as General Chair of 2018 IEEE CLOUD.

Geoffrey C. Fox received a Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics from Cambridge University and is now distinguished professor of Informatics and Computing, and Physics at Indiana University where he is director of the Digital Science Center, Chair of Department of Intelligent Systems Engineering and Director of the Data Science program at the School of Informatics and Computing. He previously held positions at Caltech, Syracuse University and Florida State University after being a postdoc at the Institute of Advanced Study at Princeton, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory and Peterhouse College Cambridge. Dr. Fox has supervised the Ph.D. of 68 students and published around 1,200 papers in physics and computer science with an index of 70 and over 26,000 citations. He currently works in applying computer science from infrastructure to analytics in Biology, Pathology, Sensor Clouds, Earthquake and Ice-sheet Science, Image processing, Deep Learning, Manufacturing, Network Science and Particle Physics. The infrastructure work is built around Software Defined Systems on Clouds and Clusters. The analytics focuses on scalable parallelism. Dr. Fox is a Fellow of APS (Physics) and ACM (Computing).

[7/15/2017] Professor Stephen S. Yau Appointed as General Chair of IEEE 2018 SERVICES

Professor Carl K. Chang, new Steering Committee Chair, appointed Professor Stephan S. Yau (Professor at Arizona State University, IEEE CS President Emeritus) as General Chair of IEEE 2018 SERVICES. IEEE 2018 SERVICES will serve as a platform and umbrella for eight co-located flagship IEEE conferences in the field of Services Computing focusing on various aspects:

  • IEEE International Conference on Cloud Computing (CLOUD 2018)
  • IEEE International Conference on Web Services (ICWS 2018)
  • IEEE International Conference on Services Computing (SCC 2018)
  • IEEE International Conference on AI & Mobile Services (AIMS 2018)
  • IEEE International Congress on Big Data (BigData Congress 2018)
  • IEEE International Conference on Edge Computing (EDGE 2018)
  • IEEE International Conference on Cognigive Computing (ICCC 2018)
  • IEEE International Congress on Internet of Things (ICIOT 2018)

[7/15/2017] New Steering Committee Formed

Professor Carl K. Chang (IEEE-CS President Emeritus) has been appointed by the IEEE-CS Vice President for Technical and Conferences Activities to serve the chair of the Steering Committee for IEEE SERVICES. The reconstituted Steering Committee is comprised of a team of world-renowed scholars in the field:

  • Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA
  • Carl Chang, Iowa State University, USA (Chair)
  • Rong Chang, IBM, USA
  • Peter Chen, Carnegie Mellon University & Louisana State University, USA
  • Ernesto Damiani, University of Milan, Italy
  • Ian Foster, University of Chicago & Argonne National Lab, USA
  • Dennis Gannon, Indiana University, USA
  • Michael Goul, Arizona State University, USA
  • Hong Mei, Beijing Institute of Technology & Key Laboratory of High Confidence Software Technologies (PKU)-MOE, China
  • Stephen S. Yau, Arizona State University, USA

Contact Information

If you have any questions or queries on CLOUD 2018, please send email to: ieeecs DOT cloud AT gmail DOT com.