32nd Annual IEEE International Computer Software and Applications Conference

Turku, Finland, July 28 - August 1, 2008
dddddddddddCo-located with IPSJ/IEEE SAINT 2008

The First IEEE International Workshop on Model-Driven Development of Autonomic Systems (MDDAS 2008)


The First IEEE International Workshop on
Model-Driven Development of Autonomic Systems (MDDAS 2008)

Call for Paper (pdf)

in conjunction with IEEE COMPSAC 2008, Turku, July 28-August 1, 2008



As systems and networks become increasing complex, distributed, and dynamic, traditional design, development, and management techniques have become ineffective. Autonomic computing is a promising solution to the design of such systems, with autonomous entities exhibiting self-governing behavior. In autonomic systems, autonomic entities will be created that are self-aware and self-healing. In their deployment, they will be self-adapting, self-optimizing and self-configuring; and in operation they will be self-protecting, self-managing and self-composing.


This workshop will provide a forum for interactive and in-depth discussion of model-driven approaches to the architecture, design, and deployment of autonomic systems, components, and services. The focus of this workshop is on new means for realizing model-driven development and deployment of autonomic components, devices, and systems to support various aspects of self-governance. This workshop brings together researchers and practitioners to share their ideas, solutions, experiences, and lessons learned from real-world applications.


Topics of interest for paper submission include, but are not limited to:


        Advances in modeling and meta-modeling for autonomic and self-* functionality;

        Advances in model-driven architecture for autonomic and self-* systems;

        Cognitive Radio and Network modeling;

        Model-driven development, testing and validation of autonomic and self-* systems;

        Knowledge-based network governance

        New governance models based on modeling and meta-modeling;

        Advances in modeling tools and simulation;



Nazim Agoulmine, University d’Evry, France

Nelly Bencomo, Lancaster University, UK

Monique Calisti, Whitestein Technologies, Switzerland

Betty Cheng, Michigan State University, USA

Simon Dobson, University College Dublin, Ireland

Joel Fleck, HP Labs, USA

Robert France, Colorado State University, USA

Jeff Gray, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Brendan Jennings, TSSG, Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland

Dave Lewis, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Shih-Hsi Liu, California State University, Fresno, USA

Dave Raymer, Motorola Labs, USA

Joan Serrat, UPC, Spain

Mikhail Smirnov, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany

Neuman de Souza, University of Ceara, Brazil

Roy Sterritt, University of Ulster, Ireland



March 16, 2008 (extended!)

Workshop paper submission due

April 12, 2008

Workshop paper notification

April 30, 2008

All final manuscript and author pre-registration due


All papers should be submitted electronically via MDDAS2008 submission site. All submitted papers will be reviewed by the program committee according to originality, significance, and relevance. Papers are limited to 6 pages including all figures, tables, and references. Please follow the IEEE Computer Society Press Proceedings Author Guidelines to prepare your papers ( The format is 8.5" x 11", two-column (PDF: instruct.pdf; DOC: instruct.doc). Please refer to the Layout Guide (PDF: format.pdf; DOC: format.doc) for detailed information.



Accepted papers will be published in the Workshop Proceedings of the 32nd IEEE Computer Software and Applications Conference (COMPSAC 2008). It should be noted that all IEEE COMPSAC conference proceedings are published by IEEE Computer Society Conference Publishing Services (CPS). All CPS Publications are captured in the online IEEE Digital Library, and professionally indexed through INSPEC and EI Index (Elsevier's Engineering Information Index). At least one of the authors of each accepted paper must register as a full participant of the workshop for the paper to be included in the COMPSAC 2008 Proceedings.


General Chairs:

John Strassner

Motorola Labs, Motorola Inc., Schaumburg, IL 60196, USA.


Sven van der Meer

TSSG, Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland.


Program Chair:

Jing Zhang

Motorola Labs, Motorola Inc., Schaumburg, IL 60196, USA.


Please contact Jing Zhang (