Call for Posters/Demos

(Update: click here for the list of accepted posters/demos)

The ACM/IEEE International Conference on Internet of Things Design and Implementation (IoTDI) is a premier venue on IoT. In addition to full-length technical papers, IoTDI welcomes exciting demonstrations of novel IoT technology, applications, and hardware, as well as posters showing promising early work from both industry and academia.
Selection of demonstration and posters will be based on a short two-page abstract, evaluated based on technical merit and innovation, as well as the potential to stimulate interesting discussions and exchange of ideas at the conference.
Accepted abstracts will appear in the regular conference proceedings. At least one author of every accepted demonstration or poster abstract is required to register and attend the conference.


Posters provide an opportunity for conference attendees to learn about innovative work in progress and to preview late-breaking research results. Poster sessions will provide an informal setting for presenters to communicate ideas or results and obtain feedback from attendees. Poster abstracts should report on research work where at least some preliminary results are available, but they do not need necessarily to describe completed work. An easel will be provided for all posters. If you have any questions, please contact the poster chair: Abusayeed Saifullah (Wayne State University) at saifullah(AT)


Demo submissions will give the audience an up-close peek into the latest technologies, systems, and devices, offering an interactive experience with the demonstrated entities.
Demo abstracts should describe both the technology being showcased, as well as the user experience of the demo. Any requirement for the demo (tables, power, wireless connectivity, etc.), should be described clearly in your submission using a separate third page (not part of the technical content of the abstract). If you have any questions, please contact the demo chair: Carlo Alberto Boano (Graz University of Technology) at cboano(AT)

Submission Instructions

Formatting guidelines: poster and demonstration abstracts should be at most 2 single-spaced US Letter (8.5" x 11") pages, including all figures, tables, and references. The reviews process is single blind and there is hence no need to anonymize the submissions. All submissions must use the IEEE LaTeX (preferred) or Word templates found here.

Demonstrations should list any special requirements (tables, power, wireless connectivity, etc.) in the submission using a separate third page. This third page is not part of the technical content of the abstract, can be formatted at discretion of the authors, and will not be included in the camera-ready version of your abstract.

The title of the abstract should be prepended with “Poster Abstract:” or “Demo Abstract:”. Please make sure to include all authors, affiliation, and contact information.

Submission link: please submit your poster and demo abstracts through HotCRP here by the abstract submission deadline (February 12, 2018, AoE).

Important Dates:

  • Abstract submission deadline [Extended!]:  February 12, 2018 (AoE)
  • Acceptance notification:  February 22, 2018
  • Camera-ready deadline:  February 28, 2018


  • Poster chair:  Abusayeed Saifullah  (Wayne State University, USA)
  • Demo chair:  Carlo Alberto Boano  (Graz University of Technology, Austria)

Confirmed TPC Members:

  • Alfredo Cuzzocrea  (University of Trieste, Italy)
  • Bernd-Christian Renner  (Hamburg University of Technology, Germany)
  • Chiara Buratti  (Università di Bologna, Italy)
  • Dali Ismail  (Wayne State University, USA)
  • Daniele Puccinelli  (SUPSI, Switzerland)
  • Francesco Restuccia  (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Horst Hellbrück  (University of Lübeck, Germany)
  • Mahbubur Rahman  (Wayne State University, USA)
  • Marco Aiello  (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)
  • Marco Zimmerling  (TU Dresden, Germany)
  • Matteo Ceriotti  (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
  • Michael Breza  (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Mohammad Rahman  (Tennessee Tech University, USA)
  • Olga Saukh  (Graz University of Technology and Complexity Science Hub Vienna, Austria)
  • Ramona Marfievici  (Nimbus Research Center, Ireland)
  • Simon Duquennoy  (RISE SICS, Sweden)
  • Simon Mayer  (Pro2Future and Graz University of Technology)
  • Vijay Shah  (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Qing Wang  (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Nicolas Tsiftes  (RISE SICS, Sweden)
  • Vijao Rao  (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
  • Amy Lynn Murphy  (Bruno Kessler Foundation, Italy)
  • Giancarlo Fortino  (University of Calabria, Italy)
  • Brad Campbell  (University of Virginia, USA)