IEEE IEEE Computer Society
25th Anniversary Annual International Computer Software and Applications Conference Chicago, Illinois, USA, October 8-12, 2001

COMPSAC 2001-2003 have all come to a successful close. We look forward to further contributions from you in COMPSAC 2004 to be held in Hong Kong. Please refer to for details.


COMPSAC is the major international forum for researchers, practitioners, managers, and policy makers interested in computer software and applications. It was first held in Chicago in 1977 and will celebrate its silver jubilee in the same city in 2001. The expanded anniversary program will include original research papers, industrial case studies, participative workshops, discussion panels, and professional development seminars.

  • March 9, 2001: Extended deadline for all submissions
  • April 24, 2001: Notification of acceptance
  • June 14, 2001: Deadline for camera-ready copies of regular and short papers
  • July 6, 2001: Deadline for camera-ready copies of workshop/panel organizersí scope statements, and participantsí position papers
  • September 22, 2001: Deadline for hotel reservation
  • September 25, 2001: Deadline for advance registration
  • October 8-12, 2001: The conference

Standing Committee Chair:

Standing Committee Members:
  • Carl K. Chang, The University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
  • Jung W. Cho, KAIST, Korea
  • Albert K. Hawkes, Software Engineering Associates, USA
  • C.V. Ramamoorthy, University of California at Berkeley, USA

General Chair:
  • Terry Heng, Motorola Global Software Group, USA
Program Chair:
  • T.H. Tse, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Industry Chair:
  • Stephen Chen, Motorola Global Software Group, USA
Workshop Chair:
  • J. Barrie Thompson, University of Sunderland, UK
Panel Chair:
  • Joseph Hummel, Lake Forest College, USA
Program Committee Members:
  • Mikio Aoyama, Nanzan University, Japan
  • Doo-Hwan Bae, KAIST, Korea
  • Maarten Boasson, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Jonathan Bowen, South Bank University, UK
  • Kai-Yuan Cai, Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
  • Marion G. Ceruti, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center, USA
  • Chin-Chen Chang, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
  • Paosheng Chang, Lucent Bell Labs, USA
  • T.Y. Chen, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Shing-Chi Cheung, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
  • Mark J. Christensen, Independent Consultant, USA
  • William C. Chu, TungHai University, Taiwan
  • Elsabe Cloete, University of South Africa, South Africa
  • Hans-Dieter Ehrich, Technische Universitaet Braunschweig, Germany
  • Arif Ghafoor, Purdue University, USA
  • Albert K. Hawkes, Software Engineering Associates, USA
  • Xudong He, Florida International University, USA
  • Hoh In, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Hewijin Christine Jiau, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Nader Kameli, Guidant Corporation, USA
  • Kane Kim, University of California at Irvine, USA
  • Arnold Kwong, Independent Consultant, USA
  • T.Y. Lin, San Jose State University, USA
  • Rachel McCrindle, The University of Reading, UK
  • Bruce McMillin, University of Missouri-Rolla, USA
  • Hong Mei, Peking University, China
  • Kiyoo Nakamura, Alpha Systems, Inc., Japan
  • Akira K. Onoma, Hosei University, Japan
  • Guenther Ruhe, Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering, Germany
  • Dick B. Simmons, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Bhavani Thuraisingham, MITRE Corp., USA
  • Jeffrey Tsai, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
  • Wei-Tek Tsai, Arizona State University, USA
  • K. Vairavan, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, USA
  • Jeffrey Voas, Cigital, USA
  • Eric Wong, Telcordia Technologies, USA
  • Jim Woodcock, University of Oxford, UK
  • Baowen Xu, Southeast University, China
  • Hongji Yang, De Montfort University, UK
  • I-Ling Yen, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
  • Y.T. Yu, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Hong Zhu, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Registration Chair:

Audio-Visual Chair:
  • Yong (John) Liu, Lucent Technologies, USA

Hilton Lisle/Naperville Hilton Lisle/Naperville
3003 Corporate West Drive
Lisle, IL 60532

Telephone: +1 (800) 552-2599 or +1 (630) 505-0900
Fax: +1 (630) 505-8948


  • Please show up about five minutes before your session starts. Speakers should supply a short bio to the session chair so that they can be introduced properly. If you wish to contact the session chair or speakers before the conference, please send an email to the Program Chair at

  • Every regular 6-page paper is allowed a presentation time of 20 to 25 minutes and a questions-and-answers period of 5 to 10 minutes. Every short 3-page paper is allowed a presentation time of 10 minutes and a Q&A period of 5 minutes. The session chairs will remind the presenters a few minutes before the end of the presentation. If you are not sure about the length of your presentation, please send a message to the Program Chair at

  • Panel and workshop chairs and presenters can discuss and agree on a presentation format of their own choice.

  • COMPSAC 2001 will provide a computer projector and an overhead projector as standard equipment in each session. We would like to clarify that, because of various technical reasons, the computer projector provided will not be attached to a lap-top computer by default. If you choose to use the computer projector, you need to bring your own lap-top for connection to the computer projector. Your presentation material should be downloaded to your machine before the session starts. If you have serious difficulty in bringing your own lap-top to the conference, we recommend that you use the overhead projector instead.

  • In case you have not yet registered, please do so at your earliest convenience using the Registration Form for Authors, Speakers, and Session Chairs.



Hotel: Hilton Lisle/Naperville
3003 Corporate West Drive
Lisle, IL 60532
By Telephone: +1 (800) 552-2599 or +1 (630) 505-0900
By Fax: +1 (630) 505-8948
All reservations will be made by individuals. The hotel may require a deposit in advance in order to guarantee a particular reservation by credit card, company check, or money order.
Group Name: IEEE Computer Society
Group Contact: Professor Carl Chang
Room Rate: $109 per night single or double.
All room rates are subject to state, local and any occupancy taxes in effect at the time of the function. These rates are currently 9%.
Dates: The above special rates will apply at least 3 days prior to and 3 days after the following dates, based on availability:
Saturday, October 6 through Saturday, October 13, 2001.
Cut Off Date: September 22, 2001 at midnight CDT. If you have any difficulty in hotel reservation after the cut-off date, please contract Stephen S. Yau at
Check-In: After 3 p.m.
Check-Out: Prior to 12 noon.
Cancellation: Cancellation of hotel reservation must be received by Hilton at least 24 hours prior to the scheduled arrival date for the refund of deposit.

IEEE Computer Society


For enquiries related to the conference program, please contact:
    T.H. Tse
Program Chair
Telephone: +852 / 2859 2183
Fax: +852 / 2559 8447

For enquiries related to conference registration, please contact:
    Peter Wu
Registration Chair
Telephone: +1 (480) 965-1746
Fax: +1 (480) 965-2751

For general enquiries, please contact:
    Stephen S. Yau
Standing Committee Chair
Telephone: +1 (480) 965-3190
Fax: +1 (480) 965-2751



  Every visit counts.  Click here.